Sherine Hegazy performs Billy Cowie's Art of Movement
Sherine Hegazy performs Billy Cowie's Art of Movement 

Organising an arts festival – whether it’s theatre, music, film, or a mix of several different art forms – can be hard work, especially if you’re trying to build one up from scratch. At the British Council, we use our know-how and extensive array of contacts to strengthen festivals in Egypt, by taking organisers to the UK for our arts showcases and helping them bring the best of the UK and international arts scene back to Egyptian audiences.

Ahmed El Attar of the Downtown Contemporary Arts Festival (D-Caf) is a case in point. He set up D-Caf in 2012 to fill what he saw as a major void in the Egyptian – and regional – cultural scene for an international contemporary arts festival. He’s attended a number of UK showcases with the help of the British Council brought the Art of Movement by Billy Cowie to D-Caf 2014.

“It’s how programmers like myself see performances, select them, meet artists, see new things and start a conversation and discuss ideas for the future,” he says. “You’re also connecting festivals with each other and that generates new projects and collaborations. And because English is an international language, the British Council showcases attract a much wider variety of programmes than other countries. There’s more varied work and a wider variety of expression.”

Mohamed El Ghawy, who founded and directs the Hakawy International Arts Festival for Children, agrees. He started the festival in 2011 and this year brought English company Tell Tale Hearts to its fourth edition in March. The British Council supported his trip to the Imaginate Festival in Edinburgh, one of the world’s biggest international arts festivals for children, in 2013.

“I learnt a lot about the administration and organisation of a festival because we don’t have this infrastructure in Egypt,” he says. “I learnt about the strategy of the artistic director, fundraising and marketing, and I definitely made some changes after that. I also saw some very good shows, met the artists, and discovered new work, which was very inspiring. When I came back to Egypt, I created a programme to support emerging artists who want to work with children after seeing a similar project in the UK.”   

Amro Salah, who founded the Cairo Jazz Festival in 2009, has also benefited from our showcases. He went to the London Jazz Festival in 2012 and brought the Neil Cowley Trio to Cairo in 2013, and award-winning jazz saxophonist and rapper Soweto Kinch to this year’s festival in March.

I was very lucky,’ he says. 'I met lots of people like festival organisers and booking agents and artists and also had the chance to see some really good British jazz. The Soweto Kinch show was very successful. We did a two-day workshop with local rappers beforehand, which also went down very well – all together on stage they managed to do something really different.'

شيرين حجازى اثناء عرض بيلى كوى
شيرين حجازى اثناء عرض بيلى كوى 

 من الممكن أن يكون تنظيم مهرجانًا فنيًا عملًا شاقًا - سواء كان ذلك في مجال المسرح أو الموسيقى أو الأفلام أو مزيجًا من عدة أشكال فنية مختلفة –  وخاصة إذا كنت تحاول البداية من الصفر.  في المجلس الثقافي البريطاني، نحن نستخدم معرفتنا ومجموعة الإتصالات الواسعة التى لدينا لتعزيز إقامة المهرجانات في مصر، وذلك من خلال إرسال منظمي المهرجانات إلى المملكة المتحدة لحضور معارضنا الفنية ومساعدتهم على جلب أفضل ما في فنون المملكة المتحدة والفنون الدولية وتقديمها للجماهير المصرية.

 ويعتبر أحمد العطار صاحب مهرجان 'وسط البلد للفنون المعاصرة D-CAF' مثالًا واضحًا على ذلك.  فقد أسس أحمد مهرجان وسط البلد في عام 2012 ليملاء ما اعتبره فراغًا كبيرًا، حيث أفتقر المشهد الثقافي في مصر– وعلى المستوى الإقليمي أيضًا– إلى مهرجان دولي للفنون المعاصرة.  حضر أحمد عددًا من المهرجانات والمعارض في المملكة المتحدة بدعم من المجلس الثقافي البريطاني واستضاف مهرجانه العرض الراقص 'فن الحركة' للفنان بيلي كوي.

ويقول أحمد: "هذه هى الطريقة التي بها يتمكن مُنظمي البرامج مثلي من مشاهدة العروض للإختيار من بينها ومقابلة الفنانين ورؤية أشياء جديدة والبدء فى المحادثات لمناقشة الأفكار حول كيفية العمل في المستقبل." كما يقول: "أنت أيضًا تربط بين المهرجانات بعضها ببعض مما ينتج عنه مشاريع وسبل للتعاون جديدة". 

 ويتفق محمد الغاوي، مؤسس ومخرج مهرجان 'حكاوي الدولي لفنون الطفل' مع هذا الرأي.  فقد بدأ محمد فى إقامة المهرجان في عام 2011 ، وفى دورته الرابعة التى إقيمت فى مارس من العام الحالى دعى الشركة الإنجليزية 'Tell Tale Hearts' للمشاركة به.  هذا وفي عام 2013، دعم المجلس الثقافي البريطاني زيارة محمد لمهرجان 'Imaginate Festival'  وهو واحد من أكبر المهرجانات الفنية الدولية في العالم للأطفال.

ويقول محمد: "تعلمت الكثير عن إدارة وتنظيم المهرجان لأننا نفتقد وجود البنية التحتية في مصر." كما يقول: "لقد تعرفت على استراتيجية المخرج الفني وكيفية البحث عن تمويل والتسويق، وبناء على ذلك بالتأكيد قمت بإدخال بعض التغييرات.  كما شاهدت أيضًا بعض العروض الجيدة جدًا، وتقابلت مع الفنانين، واكتشفت مجالات العمل الجديدة، الأمر الذي كان مُلهمًا للغاية.  وعندماعدت إلى مصر، أبتكرت برنامجًا لدعم الفنانين الناشئين الذين يرغبون في العمل مع الأطفال بعد رؤية مشروع مماثل في المملكة المتحدة."

 

استفاد أيضًا عمرو صلاح، مؤسس مهرجان 'القاهرة لموسيقى الجاز' في عام 2009، من معارضنا حيث ذهب إلى مهرجان 'لندن لموسيقى الجاز' في عام 2012 وجلب من هناك ثلاثي نيل كاولي إلى القاهرة في عام 2013، كما استضاف عازف الساكسفون ومغني الراب الحاصد للجوائز المتنوعة سويتو كينش فى المهرجان في شهر مارس من العام الحالى. 

 يقول عمرو:  "كنت محظوظا جدًا، التقيت الكثير من الأشخاص مثل منظمي المهرجانات ووكلاء الحجز والفنانين، كما أتيحت لي الفرصة أيضًا لرؤية بعض عروض الجاز البريطاني الجيدة.  كان عرض سويتو كينش ناجحًا جدًا. كما نظمنا ورشة عمل لمدة يومين مع مغني الراب المحلييين في وقت سابق للعرض، والتي أديرت بشكل جيد جدًا أيضًا- فبالفعل استطاعوا جميعًا أن يُقدموا شيئًا مختلفًا على خشبة المسرح."