All around the world, the 'creative economy' is talked about as an important and growing part of the global economy. Governments and creative sectors across the world are increasingly recognising the importance of the creative economy as a generator of jobs, wealth and cultural engagement. The UK has been a leader in the development of this agenda, not just as a driver of the economy but also promoting social inclusion, diversity and development.  The creative industries contribute over £84 billion pounds to the UK economy, employ 2.9 million people (9% of all jobs in the UK) and exported nearly £20 billion of services in 2014. 

The Department of Culture, Media and Sport includes the following industries in its definition of the creative economy: Advertising and marketing; Architecture; Crafts; Product design, graphic design and fashion design; Film, TV, video, radio and photography; IT, software and computer services; Publishing; Museums, galleries and libraries; Music, performing arts and visual arts

The British Council in Egypt launched its creative economy programme in February 2016 to develop collaborations between the UK and Egypt in the field of creative industries. This three-year initiative will work with the Egyptian government, industry organisations, and businesses to support entrepreneurship, increase employment and grow demand for Egyptian creative products. 

Our programme focus

  • Capacity building through education: we will focus on activities that build institutional capacity in both the formal and informal education sectors which work with individual creative entrepreneurs. 
  • Information Management: the programme will work with local and international partners on mapping Egypt’s creative economy, building an accessible database of knowledge which will inform policy- and decision-making  
  • Policy Dialogue:Joint work with the Government of Egypt to raise awareness of the importance of the creative industries to a national economy and support policy-making in Egypt
  • Accessible resource bank: we will develop an Arabic-language resource bank to support people working in the creative economy
  • Exchanging knowledge and expertise: creating a forum for discussion, information exchange, and action-planning between Egyptian and UK government bodies, cultural organisations, networks of entrepreneurs and educators

Activities

RiseUp Summit

We are delighted to be a key enabling partner for the creative economy strand of the RiseUp Summit 2016, which will take place from 9-11 December at the Greek Campus and AUC Tahrir Campus in Downtown Cairo. This year RiseUp is all about the ‘fusion’ of capital, technology and creativity to unlock an unlimited source of energy ready to power the enterprise culture into the future. We’re bringing some of the UK’s top strategists, educators and creatives to Cairo to find out what’s going on in Egypt, share their experience and take away the knowledge that local and regional entrepreneurs are building a sustainable economic future. And with over 5000 young entrepreneurs attending, this is the perfect place to do that. 

Formal launch of our creative economy programme

In February 2016 we formally launched our creative economy programme with a panel discussion hosted at the Creative Egypt initiative. Studio Emad Eddin founder Ahmed El Attar led a lively discussion on the challenges of being a creative entrepreneur and the support needed to make a business succeed. The panelists were: Azza Fahmy, internationally-renowned jewellery designer and business woman, Hisham Basha, Business Development Expert at the Industrial Modernisation Centre and Project Coordinator at Creative Egypt;  Beatrice Pembroke, Director Creative Economy, British Council; and Sonja Dahl, Senior Programme Manager Innovation Skills at Nesta. After the discussion the audience shared their experiences, comments and ideas to bring an exciting evening to a close. 

 

Study tour to the UK

In March 2016 a group of dynamic stakeholders in the entrepreneurship ecosystem visited London and Liverpool to hear about the UK’s strengths in the creative economy, particularly around the development of creative cities and creative hubs, share Egypt’s experience and to look for opportunities for future collaborations . The visit encouraged discussion on possible government-to-government collaboration and raised awareness of the increasing importance of the creative sector to the creation of jobs and the generation of wealth. Participants in the study tour were from the Industrial Modernisation Centre, RiseUp, Drosos Foundation, Media & More and Studio Emad Eddin. The group now act in an advisory capacity helping us develop our creative economy programme for the future. 

 

Roundtables

In May 2016 we hosted the first in a series of creative economy roundtable discussions. This one looked at the creative economy in general and brought together government bodies, cultural organisations, entrepreneurs and educators to discuss the wider issues around the creative industries and the support they need. Future roundtables will discuss the challenges facing young designers (December), the specific needs of young fashion designers (March) and a forum on creative cities (May). 

 

Cultural Skills research

In 2015-16, our Cultural Skills Unit conducted research to acquire greater understanding of the skills needs in the cultural sector in Egypt, Morocco and Saudi Arabia.  You can read the findings in Arabic and English

 

Creative cities

As part of our information-sharing role, we have commissioned Progrss to write a series of articles about UK cities and their approaches to creativity and the creative industries. Between August 2016 and April 2017 they will be publishing articles about Edinburgh, Glasgow, Leeds, Sheffield, Hull, Liverpool, Manchester and Belfast. Finds links below to the articles already published. All articles will soon be available in Arabic.

In parallel to the work we have done in Egypt, colleagues in the UK and India have created some fascinating new content in ‘art tours’ of various UK cities, looking at interesting and exciting work companies and artists are doing in those cities. Find links below to the cities already visited. 

Training creative entrepreneurs

In October 2015 UK consultant Alison Derrig trained a group young creative entrepreneurs using the Nesta creative enterprise toolkit. The toolkit helped them think more deeply about their approach to business and how they could make it more sustainable. The entrepreneurs came from a variety of creative areas, including music, jewellery design, crafts and event management. In February 2016 we also delivered a workshop to build a group of Egyptian trainers who will use the Nesta creative enterprise toolkit in Arabic to train more young creative entrepreneurs to develop their businesses. 

 

Resources

The British Council has commissioned a series of publications on the creative economy, which can all be found here.  

The Introduction to the Creative Economy Guide and Mapping the Creative Industries are both available in several languages, including Arabic. 

We have been partnering with the UK's innovation agency Nesta to deliver their Creative Enterprise programme worldwide. These are creative and practical tools which simply, but critically, offer a useful framework for developing, testing and turning business ideas into tangible and long term enterprises.  You can download them for free in Arabic or English.  

The Creative HubKit is a free toolkit for people looking to set up a hub. It is made up of best practice examples, helpful experiences and tried and tested approaches from some of the most successful hubs in the UK and Europe. Download your copy of the Creative HubKit toolkit.

Creative Hacks. What are they? We asked Joeli Brearley from CultureCode and FutureEverything to produce a guide to help you concoct the perfect hack. Download The Art of Hacking guide

For more information about the creative industries in the UK, have a look at the links below:

External links

يدور الحديث مؤخًرا، في جميع أنحاء العالم، حول "الاقتصاد الإبداعي" باعتباره جزءًا هامًا ومتناميًا من الاقتصاد العالمي، حيث أصبح لدى الحكومات والقطاعات الإبداعية في جميع أنحاء العالم إدراكًا متزايدًا لأهمية الاقتصاد الإبداعي بوصفه مُولدًا لفرص العمل والثروة والتواصل الثقافي. ولطالما كانت المملكة المتحدة رائدة في تطوير هذه الأجندة، ليس فقط بوصفها محركًا للاقتصاد ولكن أيضًا لتعزيز الاندماج الاجتماعي والتنوع والتنمية. وتساهم الصناعات الإبداعية بما يزيد عن 84 مليار جنيه استرليني في اقتصاد المملكة المتحدة، وتوظف 2.9 مليون نسمة (9٪ من جميع الوظائف في المملكة المتحدة) وصدَّرت ما يقرب من 20 مليار جنيه استرليني من الخدمات في عام 2014.

تُدرج وزارة الثقافة والإعلام والرياضة الصناعات التالية في تعريفها للاقتصاد الإبداعي: الاعلان والتسويق، الهندسة المعمارية، الحرف، تصميم المنتجات، التصميم الجرافيكي وتصميم الأزياء، السينما والتلفزيون والفيديو والراديو والتصوير الفوتوغرافي، تكنولوجيا المعلومات والبرمجيات وخدمات الكمبيوتر، النشر، المتاحف والمعارض والمكتبات، الموسيقى وفنون الأداء، والفنون البصرية.

أطلق المجلس الثقافي البريطاني في مصر برنامجه الخاص بالاقتصاد الإبداعي في فبراير 2016 لتطوير التعاون بين المملكة المتحدة ومصر في مجال الصناعات الإبداعية. ستعمل هذه المبادرة ومدتها ثلاث سنوات مع الحكومة المصرية ومنظمات الصناعة، والشركات لدعم ريادة الأعمال وزيادة فرص العمل وزيادة الطلب على المنتجات الإبداعية المصرية.

يهتم برنامجنا بما يلي:

بناء القدرات: التركيز على الأنشطة التي من شأنها بناء القدرات المؤسسية في كل من قطاعي التعليم الرسمي وغير الرسمي اللذين يعملان مع رواد الأعمال المبدعين الفرديين. 

  • بناء قواعد البيانات: العمل مع الشركاء المحليين والدوليين لرسم خرائط الاقتصاد الإبداعي في مصر، وبناء قاعدة بيانات يمكن الوصول إليها لتوجيه عمليات صنع السياسات والقرارات.
  • تشكيل السياسات: العمل مع الحكومة المصرية لرفع مستوى الوعي بأهمية الصناعات الإبداعية في الاقتصاد الوطني ودعم عملية صنع السياسات في مصر
  • إنشاء بنك للمعلومات: إنشاء بنك الموارد باللغة العربية لدعم العاملين في مجال الاقتصاد الإبداعي
  • تبادل الخبرات: إنشاء منتدى للنقاش وتبادل المعلومات، والتخطيط للعمل بين الهيئات الحكومية المصرية والبريطانية، والمنظمات الثقافية وشبكات رواد الأعمال والقائمين على التعليم. 

الأنشطة 

قمة RiseUp

يُسعدنا أن نكون شريكًا رئيسيًا مُمكنًا  للمحور الخاص بالاقتصاد الإبداعي في قمة RiseUp 2016، والتي ستُعقد في الفترة من 9 إلى 11 ديسمبر بالمبنى اليوناني بمقر الجامعة الأمريكية بالقاهرة في وسط القاهرة . وتُركز قمة هذا العام على "دمج" رأس المال والتكنولوجيا والإبداع معًا لفتح مصدرًا غير محدود للطاقة الجاهزة لدفع ثقافة المشاريع في المستقبل. نستضيف مجموعة من كبار الاستراتيجيين والمعلمين والمبدعين من المملكة المتحدة في القاهرة للتعرف على ما يجري في مصر، وتبادل الخبرات والعودة إلى بلدهم وهم على دراية بأن رواد الأعمال المحليين والإقليميين يبنون مستقبل اقتصادي مستدام. وبحضور أكثر من 5000 رائد أعمال من الشباب، هذا هو المكان المثالي للقيام بذلك.

الإطلاق الرسمي لبرنامج الاقتصاد الإبداعي

في فبراير 2016 أطلقنًا رسميًا برنامجنا الخاص بالاقتصاد الإبداعي مع حلقة نقاش استضافتها مبادرة مصر المبدعة. أجرى أحمد العطار، مؤسس ستديو عماد الدين، مناقشة حية حول التحديات التي تواجه رائد الأعمال المبدع والدعم اللازم لضمان مشروع تجاري ناجح. وشارك في هذا الاجتماع كل من عزة فهمي، مُصممة المجوهرات وسيدة الأعمال الشهيرة عالميًا، وهشام باشا، خبير تطوير الأعمال في مركز تحديث الصناعة ومنسق المشروعات في مصر المبدعة، وبياتريس بمبروك، مدير قسم الإقتصاد الإبداعي في المجلس الثقافي البريطاني، و سونيا دال، مدير عام برنامج مهارات الابتكار في مؤسسة نيستا. وفي أعقاب المناقشة، تبادل الحضور خبراتهم والتعليقات والأفكار وهو ما كان بمثابة أفضل ختام لتلك الأمسية الساحرة. 

جولة دراسية في المملكة المتحدة

في مارس 2016 ، زارت مجموعة من أصحاب المصلحة النشيطين في بيئة ريادة الأعمال لندن وليفربول للتعرف على نقاط القوة التي تتمتع بها المملكة المتحدة في مجال الاقتصاد الإبداعي، وخاصة فيما يتعلق بتطوير المدن والمراكز الإبداعية، إضافةً إلى تبادل الخبرات بين مصر والمملكة المتحدة والبحث عن فرص للتعاون في المستقبل. شجعت هذه الزيارة على إجراء مناقشة حول احتمالية وجود تعاون بين الحكومتين المصرية والبريطانية كما أنها زادت من الوعي بالأهمية المتزايدة لقطاع الإبداع في خلق فرص العمل وتوليد الثروة. وكان المشاركون في الجولة الدراسية من مركز تحديث الصناعة، وقمة ريزأب، ومؤسسة دروسوس، ومؤسسة ميديا آند مور، وستوديو عماد الدين. وتعمل المجموعة حاليًا بصفة استشارية لمساعدتنا في تطوير برنامجنا الخاص بالاقتصاد الإبداعي في المستقبل.

حلقات النقاش

 في مايو 2016 ، استضفنا للمرة الأولى سلسلة من مناقشات المائدة المستديرة حول الاقتصاد الإبداعي. ركزت هذه المناقشات على مجال الاقتصاد الإبداعي بشكل عام وضمت الهيئات الحكومية والمنظمات الثقافية ورواد الأعمال والتربويين لمناقشة قضايا أوسع نطاقًا حول الصناعات الإبداعية والدعم الذي تحتاج إليه. أما مناقشات الموائد المستديرة في المستقبل فسوف تتناول التحديات التي تواجه المصممين الشباب (في ديسمبر)، والاحتياجات الخاصة لمصممي الأزياء الشباب (في مارس)، وندوة حول المدن الإبداعية (في مايو).

بحث حول المهارات الثقافية

ي عام 2015-2016، أجرت وحدة المهارات الثقافية بحثا لاكتساب فهم أكبر للاحتياجات من المهارات في القطاع الثقافي في مصر والمغرب والمملكة العربية السعودية. يمكنك الإطلاع على نتائج هذا البحث باللغتين العربية والانجليزية هنا.

المدن الإبداعية

كجزء من الدور الذي نضطلع به في تبادل المعلومات، قمنا بتكليف مؤسسة  Progrss لكتابة سلسلة من المقالات حول مدن المملكة المتحدة، وما تتبعه تلك المدن من نُهُج في مجال الإبداع والصناعات الإبداعية. وسوف يُنشر عددًا من المقالات في الفترة بين أغسطس 2016 وأبريل 2017 حول مدن ادنبره وجلاسكو وليدز وشيفيلد وهال وليفربول ومانشستر وبلفاست. يوجد أدناه روابط لمقالات سبق نشرها. وقريبًا ستتوفر جميع المقالات باللغة العربية.

وبالتوازي مع العمل الذي قمنا به في مصر، قام فريق من الزملاء في المملكة المتحدة والهند بتصميم محتوى جديد ورائع في "الجولات الفنية" التي أجروها في مختلف مدن المملكة المتحدة للتعرف على كل ما هو مثير فيما تقوم به شركات الأعمال والفنانين في تلك المدن. تجد أدناه روابط للمدن التي قاموا بزيارتها:

تدريب رواد الأعمال المبدعين

في أكتوبر 2015 قامت الخبيرة البريطانية الاستشارية أليسون ديريج بتدريب مجموعة من رواد الأعمال الشباب المبدعين باستخدام مجموعة أدوات المشاريع الإبداعية التي تعتمدها مؤسسة نيستا

وقد ساعدت تلك الأدوات المشاركين على التفكير بعمق حول نهجهم المتبع في العمل وكيف يمكنهم جعله أكثر استدامة. وجاء رواد الأعمال المشاركين من مجموعة متنوعة من المجالات الإبداعية، والتي شملت الموسيقى، وتصميم المجوهرات، والحرف، وإدارة الفعاليات. في فبراير 2016 نظمنا أيضًا ورشة عمل لبناء قدرات مجموعة من المدربين المصريين الذين سوف يستعينون بأدوات المشاريع الإبداعية لمؤسسة نيستا باللغة العربية لتدريب المزيد من رواد الأعمال الشباب لتطوير أعمالهم.

الموارد

أصدر المجلس الثقافي البريطاني تكليفًا بإنتاج سلسلة من المطبوعات حول الاقتصاد الإبداعي، والتي يمكن الإطلاع عليها كلها هنا

تتوفر مطبوعات من بينها  "مُقدمة إلى دليل الاقتصاد الإبداعي" و "تخطيط الصناعات الإبداعية" في العديد من اللغات، منها اللغة العربية.

تشاركنا مع هيئة الابتكار في المملكة المتحدة "نيستا" لتقديم برنامجها للمشاريع الابداعية في جميع أنحاء العالم. وهو عبارة عن مجموعة من الأدوات الإبداعية والعملية والتي ببساطة، ولكن الأهم من ذلك، توفر إطارا مفيدا لتطوير واختبار وتحويل الأفكار إلى مشاريع تجارية ملموسة وطويلة المدى. يمكنك تحميل تلك الأدوات مجانا باللغة العربية أو الإنجليزية.  

تُقدّم مجموعة أدوات HubKit الإبداعية مجانًا للأشخاص الذين يرغبون في انشاء "مركزًا" "Hub". وهي مكونة من أمثلة عن أفضل الممارسات والتجارب المفيدة والنهج التي تم تجربتها واختبارها من بعض المراكز الأكثر نجاحًا في المملكة المتحدة وأوروبا. حمل نسختك من مجموعة HubKit الإبداعية هنا.

الفعاليات الإبداعية Creative Hacks. ما هي تلك الفعاليات؟ طلبنا من Joeli Brearley من CultureCode وFutureEverything إنتاج دليل لمساعدتك على إعداد وتنظيم الفعاليات الإبداعية المثالية. حمل "فن إعداد الفعاليات الإبداعية" هنا.

 

 لمزيد من المعلومات حول الصناعات الإبداعية في المملكة المتحدة، أنظر الروابط أدناه:

روابط خارجية