MY RIGHT 'SPACES TO SUPPORT WOMEN’S CHOICES'

ABOUT THE PROGRAMME

According to a United Nations report in 2010, 'violence against women remains widespread across the world, exacerbated by traditions and customary practices that determine the way women are treated in families, places of work and communities.'

Egypt is no exception. Violence towards women and girls in all its forms – sexual, physical, verbal, emotional and psychological – has increased dramatically in the country over the past few years. The phenomenon is not limited anymore to a particular context; it is happening within and outside the family.

According to a study conducted in 2008 by the Egyptian Centre for Women's Rights (ECWR), sexual harassment has rapidly increased, with 62 per cent of Egyptian men admitting to having sexually harassed women and more than 80 per cent of Egyptian women reporting incidents of this kind.

Who we work with

The programme is a partnership between the Ministry of Justice and the British Council, in collaboration with civil society representative organisation “Appropriate Communication Techniques for Development Centre” (ACT) and in partnership with Victim Support in the United Kingdom. The programme is funded by the Foreign and Common Wealth Office.

What can be done?

The My Right programme aims to contribute to the reduction of violence against women and helps women know and understand their rights. It has been inspired by Victim Support UK in establishing women support centers in Egypt. The centers dispense expert legal advice to women and girls who are subject to violence.

Psychological and social support is also there to help traumatised women who are over 18 years old to make choices and decide for themselves. Cases that fall outside the Women Support Centers’ remit will be referred to the appropriate bodies – i.e. victims under 18 years old or those requiring medical intervention, to receive the support needed. 

Where are the offices and who's involved?

According to statistics from the National Centre for Social and Criminal Research, the following four cities have the highest rates of violence against women: North Cairo, Alexandria, Aswan and Tanta.

The Ministry of Justice has made spaces available for centres inside the courts of the four cities and also recruited individuals who can deliver free, quality support. The selected individuals have undergone extensive training by UK and Egyptian organisations to deal with and respond to the cases of violence against women.

“Appropriate Communication Techniques for Development Center” (ACT) have conducted research on the four selected cities to understand what services are already available in these areas. They have also recruited a solicitor who can help the victim, if she decides to take the case to court.

Alongside the programme, there will be a campaign to challenge the social acceptance of violence against women and girls. The British Council will build on the work of organisations such as HarassMap, which allows women to report harassment online.

Women Support Centres Locations

North Cairo Primary Court

Office representative: Ms Marwa Hegazy | +20 (0)1099879788;  +20 (0)1099899062

Address: North Cairo Court,  Abbassia, in front of Misr tower, Cairo.

 

Alexandria Primary Court

Office representative: Mustafa Darwish | +20 (0)1099869919; +20 (0)1099891113

Address: Alexandria Primary Court, Obrai Courts Complex, Mansheya Squar, Alexandria. 

Tanta Primary Court

Office representative: Ahmed Ibrahim Al Tanoby | +20 (0)1099880123;  +20 (0)1099899067

Address: Taha El Hakim Street - inside family court- First floor, Tanta Courts Complex, Tanta.

Family Court Aswan

Office representative: Mahmoud Al Omada | +20 (0)1099875554 ; +20 (0)1099871993

Address: El Sadat Road, beside blood bank, Family Court (ground floor ), Aswan.

برنامج حـقـي - مكاتب لدعم اختيارات المرأة

نبذة عن البرنامج

وفقًا للتقرير الصادر عن الأمم المتحدة في عام 2010، ’لا يزال العنف ضد المرأة منتشرًا في جميع أنحاء العالم، كما أنه يتفاقم بسبب التقاليد والممارسات العرفية التي تحدد الطريقة التي تُعامل بها النساء في الأسر وأماكن العمل والمجتمعات‘.

ومصرليست مستثناه من ذلك، حيث أن العنف ضدالنساء والفتيات بجميع أشكاله - الجنسية والجسدية واللفظية والعاطفية والنفسية– قد ازداد بشكل ملحوظ في البلادعلى مدى السنوات القليلة الماضية. ولا تقتصر هذه الظاهرة حاليًا على سياق معين، بل أنها تحدث داخل الأسرة وخارجها.

ووفقًا لدراسةأجراها المركز المصري لحقوق المرأة (ECWR) في عام 2008، ازدادات ظاهرة التحرش الجنسي بشكل سريع،حيث أعترف 62 في المائة من الرجال المصريين بالقيام بالتحرش الجنسي بالنساء وأكثرمن 80 في المائة من النساءالمصريات أبلغن عن تعرضهن لحوادث من هذا النوع. 

مع من نعمل

البرنامج هوعبارةعن شراكةبين وزارةالعدل  والمجلس الثقافي البريطاني،ويجري تنفيذه بالتعاون مع منظمة ممثلة للمجتمع المدني وهي "مركز وسائل الإتصال الملائمةمن أجل التنمية" (ACT) وبالمشاركة مع مراكز دعم الضحايا في المملكةالمتحدة، وتقوم على تمويله وزارة الخارجية البريطانية . 

ما الذي يمكن عمله؟

يهدف برنامج حقي إلى المساهمة في الحد من العنف ضد المرأة،ومساعدة النساءعلى معرفةوفهم حقوقهن. وهو مستوحى من فكرة مراكز دعم الضحايا في المملكةالمتحدة حيث يسعى إلى إنشاء مراكزلدعم النساء في مصر والتي تُقدم الإستشارات القانونية المتخصصة على أيدي خبراء قانونيين للنساء والفتيات اللواتي يتعرضن للعنف.

كما يوفر البرنامج الدعم النفسي والإجتماعي أيضًا لمساعدة النساء فوق سن 18 سنة واللاتي تعرضن لصدمات نفسية في الإختيار بين الحلول المتاحة واتخاذ القرارات بأنفسهن. وسوف يتم إحالة الحالات التي تقع خارج اختصاص مراكزدعم النساء إلى الهيئات المختصة- أي تلك الحالات الخاصة بالفتيات دون 18 سنةأوتلك التي تتطلب التدخل الطبي،لتلقي الدعم اللازم.

أين تقع المكاتب ومن هم المشاركين؟

وفقًا للإحصاءات الصادرة عن المركز القومي للبحوث الإجتماعية والجنائية، المدن الأربعة التالية هي التي سجلت أعلى معدلا لحوادث العنف ضد المرأة هي: شمال القاهرة، الإسكندرية ،أسوان، طنطا.

وقد وفرت وزارةالعدل المكاتب اللازمة لإنشاء المراكز داخل المحاكم في المدن الأربع، كما قامت بتعيين الأفراد الذين يمكنهم تقديم الدعم الجيد مجانًا. وقد خضع الأفراد المختارين إلى تدريب مكثف قدمته المنظمات البريطانية والمصرية ذات الصلة، لإكسابهم المهارات اللازمة للتعامل مع حالات العنف ضد المرأة والإستجابة لها. 

وقد أجرى ’مركز وسائل الإتصال الملائمة من أجل التنمية‘ بحثًا حول المدن الأربعة المختارة للتعرف على طبيعة الخدمات المتاحة بالفعل في هذه المناطق، كما قام المركز بتعيين محامٍ لمساعدة الضحية إذا ما قررت أن تلجأ إلى القضاء. 

وإلى جانب البرنامج، سوف يتم إطلاق حملة للتصدي لمفهوم القبول الإجتماعي للعنف ضد النساء والفتيات. وسيقوم المجلس الثقافي البريطان يبالبناء على عمل المنظمات الأخرى مثل مبادرة خريطة التحرش HarassMap، التي تتيح للنساء إمكانية الإبلاغ عن حوادث التحرش على شبكة الإنترنت.

مواقع مكاتب دعم المرأة

محكمة شمال القاهرة الإبتدائية

ممثل المكتب: أ. مروة حجازى | تليفون:1099879788(0) 20 + ، 1099899062(0) 20 +

العنوان: محكمة شمال القاهرة، ميدان العباسية، امام برج مصر السياحة - القاهرة

 

محكمة إسكندرية الإبتدائية

ممثل المكتب: أ. مصطفى  درويش | تليفون: 1099869919(0) 20 +، 1099891113(0) 20 +

العنوان: محكمة الاسكندرية الابتدائية، مجمع محاكم عرابي، المنشية الاسكندرية

 

محكمة طنطا الإبتدائية

ممثل المكتب: أ. أحمد ابراهيم الطنوبي | تليفون: 1099880123(0) 20 +، 1099899067(0) 20 +

العنوان: مجمع محاكم طنطا، شارع طه الحكيم محكمة الأسرة، الدور الأول  

 

محكمة الأسرة بأسوان

ممثل المكتب: أ.  محمود العمدة | تليفون: 1099871993(0) 20 + ، 1099875554(0) 20 +

العنوان: العقاد – طريق السادات بجوار بنك الدم ، محكمة الاسرة– الدور الارضي، أسوان.